2018-09-13 / Front Page

Homecoming activities get underway at LCHS

This year’s senior class homecoming court includes (lr) Avery Wheeler, Shayleigh Harper, Myke'arra Roberts, Alexia Norman, Brittany Phillips, Gracie Kent, Ali Aycock, and Brennan Pollock. This year’s senior class homecoming court includes (lr) Avery Wheeler, Shayleigh Harper, Myke'arra Roberts, Alexia Norman, Brittany Phillips, Gracie Kent, Ali Aycock, and Brennan Pollock. The week of September 17- 21 with be filled with Red Devil pride and school spirit activi­ties as students, athletes, teach­ers, and the community at large prepares for the annual Lincoln County High School homecom­ing, set for Friday, September 21, against the Warren County Blue Devils.

In order to get into the spirit of homecoming, the ever-popular “Dress Days” will be enjoyed throughout the week. Monday will be “Teacher/Student Look Alike Day or Twin Day,” dur­ing which students will dress as their favorite teacher, teachers will dress as one of their students or sets of twins will be roam­ing the halls; Tuesday will be “Character Day,” when kids will dress as their favorite fictional figures; Wednesday is “Team Sports Day,” and students and teachers will wear jerseys, hats, T-shirts, and other paraphernalia supporting their favorite college football, NFL, NBA, and MLB teams; Thursday takes a glance in the past when students are en­couraged to dress the in an out­fit of days gone by on “Decade/ Throwback Day;” and Friday has been dedicated, as per tra­dition, “Spirit Day,” as students will don the colors red and white in anticipation of the Red Dev­ils’ homecoming game.

All of these activities are lead­ing up to the Homecoming Court presentation sponsored by the LCHS Student Council, which will be featured at the halftime show of the Lincoln County football game on Friday, Sep­tember 21, on Buddy Bufford Field beginning at 7:30 p.m.

The 2018 homecoming queen and princess will be crowned during halftime by last year’s queen Shayla Beard and prin­cess Lindsey Monterro.

This year the senior class is represented by Ali Aycock, daughter of Lex Aycock and Audra Aycock; Shayliegh Harp­er, daughter of Crystal Crite and Marcus Harper; Gracie Kent, daughter of Bristol and Christian Tiller; Alexia Norman, daughter of Nicki Bolton and Cedric Nor­man; Brittany Phillips, daughter of Kelly Fletcher; Brennan Pol­lock, daughter of Kelli Smith and Michael Pollock; Myke’arra Roberts, daughter of Stephanie Bentley and Michael Roberts; and Avery Wheeler, daughter of Amy and Donald Wheeler.

The junior class represen­tatives are Katelyn Bennett, daughter of Latanza Williams and Scotty Brown; and Jewel Flanigan, daughter of Renee and John David Flanigan.

The sophomore class is repre­sented by Chloe Cliatt, daugh­ter of Bridgette and Cory Cliatt; and Jenna Kinzle, daughter of Kristina and Anthony Kinzle.

Freshman class representa­tives are Kenmiya Andrews, daughter of Crystal Hardy; Destiny Barksdale, daughter of D’metric and Derrick Barks­dale; and Leslie Kate Duncan, daughter of Anna and Woody Duncan.

Following the game, the an­nual homecoming dance will take place in the school caf­eteria, where the homecoming king and prince are slated to be crowned.

Prior to the game, the Student Council will sponsor the an­nual LCHS Senior Recognition Ceremony beginning at 7 p.m. for seniors who have dedicated their time and effort to be a part of the fall sports program at LCHS.

The honorees in football are Evan Burt, Manny Delancey, C.J. Glaze, Matt Harmon, Qua­darius Hogan, Colton Reed, Tres Kelly, Monquavious Lev­erett, Nykiece Norman, Casey Prescott, Logan Prescott, Daw­son Tankersley, Lane Tuten, and DaWayne Wright.

The honorees in cheerlead­ing are Catherine Drew Beggs, Gabbie Maddux, Alexia Nor­man, Brennan Pollock, Chloe Pope, and Avery Wheeler.

The honorees in band are Isa­iah Cannady, Kimya Ferguson, Alexis Hunter, Da’Nautica Kin­drick, William Harper, and Evan Thomas.

The honorees in softball are Taylor Briley, Taylor Guin, Sara Ingram, Brittany Phillips, and Braylin Smallwood.

The honorees in cross country are Metz LeRoy, Ross LeRoy, and Jackson Woods.

Return to top