2015-01-01 / People

Loved ones honored with light on the Tree of Remembrance

The Lincoln County Historical Society is honored to sponsor the Tree of Remembrance for 2014. This special tree is located at the intersection of Peachtree and Main Streets and will remain lit throughout the Christmas Season. The trees there were planted and are maintained by Commercial Insurance Services and Ingram Family Landscaping. They honor Mr. Ben B. Ross and the late Mrs. Mobley Ross and the Grand Marshals of the 2014 Lincolnton Christmas Parade, Mr. and Mrs. Ernie Guthrie.

A light “In Honor” or “In Memory” can be placed on the Remembrance Tree for a $1 donation per name. Registers for the names are displayed at the following locations: Lincolnton City Hall, Farmers State Bank, Farmers and Merchants Bank, Spratlin Hardware, City Pharmacy, Crawford- Breazeale Drug Co., Goldman and Wengrow and Jericho Florist. Also, requests can be mailed to LaVina Marlow, 388 May Ave., Lincolnton, GA 30817. Names will be listed in the Lincoln Journal each week.

The members of the Lincoln County Historical Society extend a heartfelt “Thank You” for your participation and support of the Tree of Remembrance. This is a wonderful way of publicly honoring, remembering or thanking a special loved one, friend, family member, teacher or mentor. All donations will be used for the maintenance and preservation of the Historical Park. (Please note that the donors’ names are in parentheses.)

In Honor

Irene Goldman, Cherrie Mc- Clellan, and Ann McGill (Betty McGill); Ernie & Renee Guthrie, Mrs. LaVina Marlow, Johnny & Laura Spratlin, Marion & Velda Aycock, Mike McCombs, Joyce Hogan, Fred Scott, Gerald Scott, Irvin & Jan Partridge, Lex & Audra Aycock, Michael & Wanda Wengrow, Eddie & Lillie Turner, Eddie Reese, Dr. & Mrs. Daryl Wiley, Dr. Robert Williams, Mrs. Addie Sue Talbert, Fred & Jane McWhorter, Carol Williams, Mrs. Inez McWhorter, Tom & Kathy McWhorter, Murray Remson, Mr. & Mrs. Hillyer Wright, Jr., Mr. & Mrs. Joe Hogan, Mr. Talmadge Reed, Mrs. Bert Aycock, Jim & Frances Aycock, Bob & Rosalyn Guillebeau, Mr. & Mrs. Richard Bentley, Mr. & Mrs. Phil McGahee, Mr. & Mrs. Tommy Dawkins, Mrs. Dovie Reed, Mr. & Mrs. Olin Reed, Mr. Tommy Holloway, Mr. & Mrs. William Bentley, Raymond & Elaine Timmerman, Rev. & Mrs. Paul Reviere, Mr. & Mrs. Thomas Dawkins, Mr. & Mrs. Tab Reed, Mr. & Mrs. Kenneth Reed, Mr. and Mrs. Kevin Beggs, Mr. & Mrs. Keith Beggs, Mrs. Carlton Beggs, The Lewis Family, Mr. & Mrs. Jack Smalley, Mrs. D. T. Danner, Mr. Stanton Tankersley, Travis & Gail Reed, JanePrater, Chad & Stephanie Jordan, Alicia Lannae, Mr. & Mrs. Richard Goolsby, Mr. & Mrs. Larry Campbell, Brian Campbell, Mr. & Mrs. Scott Partridge, Leah Partridge, Dr. & Mrs. Norman Pursley, Mr. & Mrs. Mil Hamrick, Mr. & Mrs. Russell Reese, Mrs. Myra Griffith, Bonnie Sue Scott, Mr. & Mrs. Murray Norman, Dr. & Mrs. Andy Norman, Jack Paradise, Rev. & Mrs. Tom Kalliokoski, Mr. & Mrs. Ernie Doss, Mr. & Mrs. Larry Goolsby, Mrs. Carol Olsen, Mr. & Mrs. Nelson Brooks and Mr. Charles Estes (Terrie Mc- Combs Scott Levy); Blanche Wallace, Jackie & Garnett Wallace and Pine Grove United Methodist Church (Nan & Mickey Goff); Inez McWhorter (Sandra B. Cole); City Pharmacy Employees (S.M. Bell); Goshen Baptist Church (S.M. Bell, Edwards, Maxwell, East & Cook Families (S.M. Bell), and one anonymous donation..

In Memory

Gene McGill, Butch McGill, Collins McGill, Lillian McGill, Sam McGill, Florence McGill, Kathleen Beggs, Claude Beggs, Ruby Bevill, Chris Bevill, Thomas Bunch and Myrtle Flint (Betty McGill); Mr. & Mrs. Thomas Matthews, Mr. & Mrs. Ward Spratlin, Mr. & Mrs. Tech Hogan, Mr. Billy Hogan, Mr. & Mrs. Omar Beggs, Mr. Mike Beggs, Mr. & Mrs. Bonnie Holloway, Mr. Buddy Marlow, Mr. & Mrs. Fortson Scott, Ida Ware Scott, Janice Dent, Mr. Billy McWhorter, Mrs. Kathleen Reed, Mr. & Mrs. J. R. (Junior) Ashmore, Mr. Grady Reed, Mrs. Jean Holloway, Rev. & Mrs. Elvyn McDonald, Mr. G. D. Talbert, Mr. Carlton Beggs, Mr. Pete McCombs, Mr. & Mrs. “Pop” Lewis, Mr. & Mrs. John Hawkins, Mr. & Mrs. J. R. Freeman, Mrs. Elizabeth Estes, Mr. Clinton Hogan, Mr. & Mrs. Walter Remsen, Mr. & Mrs. Jip Smalley, Mrs. Leslie Burton, John Hogan, Mr. & Mrs. Hillyer Wright, Sr., Mrs. Frances Prater, Mr. & Mrs. Howard Reed, Mrs. Colleen Dunaway, Mrs. Stanton Tankersley, Angela Brown Phillips, Laura Reed, Mr. Virgil Griffith and Mr. Pete Olsen (Terrie McCombs Scott Levy); Henry N. Wallace, Sherry W. Newsome and Laura Reed (Nan & Mickey Goff); John Earl Albea, Edna Hall Albea, Marilyn Albea Armour, Larry Martin Armour, John Addison Albea, Shawn Michael Granato, Ruth Hall Albea, Lawrence Albea, George T. Albea, Jr., George T. Albea, Sr., Lenore Norman Albea, Oral P. Hall, Connie Rathbone Hall, Bernice Hall Someck, Joseph Someck, Oliver Hall, Ruby Andrews Hall, Grady Hall, Mildred Turner Hall, John T. Martin, Gail Martin Hall, Lila Hall Campbell, Bob Campbell, Jimmy Campbell, Annie Ruth Albea Fortson, Wilton Fortson, Alice Albea Henderson, James Henderson, Frances Albea Bell, Ruffin Bell, Carolyn Albea Armour, Marion Armour, Lilly Lyles, Jim Lyles, Mae Jones and Ronald Wayne Cowart (Dianne Albea Lear); Perry Wilburn, Mattie Zellars and Irma Anderson (Beverly Wilburn);Claude Beggs, Kathleen Beggs, and Curt Cole (Sandra B. Cole);

Walter Hines (Genetta Hines); Nicole Ashmore (The Ashmore Family); Frank & Nannie Ruth Walton (The Walton Family).

Return to top