2010-08-05 / Front Page

Voters will head to the polls for runoff election Aug. 10

A statewide runoff for the 2010 Georgia General Election is set for Tuesday, August 10.

Close races in the July 20 General Primary created the need for a runoff for both Democrats and Republicans.

As in the primary, electors must vote a straight ticket. They may then cross party lines in the General/Nonpartisan Election on November 2.

The races to be decided by the runoff are as follows:

Democratic Ticket

Secretary of State: Gail Buckner and Georganna Sinkfield.

Republican Ticket

Governor: Nathan Deal and Karen Handel.

Attorney General: Sam Olens and Preston W. Smith.

Commissioner of Insurance: Ralph T. Hudgens and Maria Sheffield.

Public Service Commissioner: John Douglas and Tim Echols.

Early and advance voting continues through Friday, August 6, at the Lincoln County Board of Elections and Voter Registration, located in The Lincoln Center at 106 May Avenue.

On August 10, all of the regular polling stations will be open from a.m. to 7 p.m. They are:

.. Precinct 1-A: The building beside the Midway Volunteer Fire Department on Midway Church Road.

.. Precinct 1-B: The Lincolnton Clubhouse on N. Peachtree Street.

.. Precinct 2: The Lincoln Center.

.. Precinct 3-A: Faith Temple, situated at the intersection of the Thomson Highway and Leathersville Road.

.. Precinct 3-B: Tabernacle Baptist Church, located near the intersection of Highway 220 West and the Augusta Highway.

.. Precinct 4-A: Bethany United Methodist Church on Bethany Church Road.

.. Precinct 4-B: The voting booth beside Tankersley’s Store on Double Branches Road.

For more information about the election process, contact the Lincoln County Board of Elections and Voter Registration Office at 706-359-6126. Voters are also encouraged to view the secretary of state’s new website called MVP (My Voter Page) at www.vote.ga.gov.

Return to top